Forums Media Gallery Classifieds Chat Membership Marketplace How-Tos
Go Back   Viper Club of America Discussion Forums > General Viper Forums > RT/10 and GTS Discussions
Register All AlbumsBlogs FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

RT/10 and GTS Discussions (1992-2002) For technical and general questions and discussions related to the GEN I/II RT/10, GTS, and ACR Vipers (1992-2002).
Sponsored by: Doug Levin Motorsports

Reply
Old 10-15-2006, 08:28 PM   #1
viperdude118

Florida VCA Member
 
viperdude118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Port Richey, FL
Posts: 523



Default Could this be real?

Does anyone think this price is legit?? If so, us Gen I/II owners could be in trouble.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2006-Dodg...1QQcmdZViewItem
viperdude118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 08:33 PM   #2
Mccarlin

VCA Member
 
Mccarlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Algonquin, IL
Posts: 795



Default Re: Could this be real?

WOW, that is a crazy price. Could be a scam (stolen ebay account) but if i had the cash i'd sure bid.
Mccarlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 08:34 PM   #3
red98RT10

VCA Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Petal, MS
Posts: 345



Default Re: Could this be real?

why would gen 1/2 owners be in trouble? Ours are holding value much better than that!
red98RT10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 08:34 PM   #4
Bill B

FL VCA Member

 
Bill B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Plantation, Fl. 33323
Posts: 1,075



Default Re: Could this be real?

If you email him he will give you the BIN price. And if it isn't a scam I bet the price is closer to 80 than 50.
Bill B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 08:34 PM   #5
AZTVR

VCA Member
 
AZTVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 336



Default Re: Could this be real?

Quote:
Does anyone think this price is legit??
No, it is a common scam. The scammers always want you to contact them through email, independent of eBay. They usually are using a free email service like yahoo or hotmail.

Offer to send him a cashier's check for $62,500 and tell him you'll pay him $3,000 above his Buy it now price if he will just send you back the difference.
AZTVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 08:34 PM   #6
MoparMan

Viper owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,604



Default Re: Could this be real?

For one thing, the seller "camaroman97" lists his location as St Charles, IL in other auctions and no location is listed for this auction. The photos look "deserty" leading me to believe the car was photographed in Arizona or Nevada. The whole thing seems a little fishy to me, especially considering the incredibly low Buy It Now price for the car.
MoparMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 10:28 PM   #7
Vic

VCA Member
 
Vic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 6,119



Default Re: Could this be real?

At Mopar Man-

"I say, Holmes!"

-my dear Watson
Vic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 07:21 AM   #8
ViperJoe

VA/MD VCA Member
 
ViperJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 2,975



Default Re: Could this be real?

You obviously meant Gen3 owners could be in trouble.......
ViperJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 08:43 AM   #9
ViperJohn

Virginia/Maryland VCA Vice President
 
ViperJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 1,942



Default Re: Could this be real?

It's a scam.
ViperJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 08:51 AM   #10
Asp Man

Western Canada VCA Member

 
Asp Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Calgary, AB, W.Canada
Posts: 1,063



Default Re: Could this be real?

Bill B: "If you email him he will give you the BIN price. And if it isn't a scam I bet the price is closer to 80 than 50."

The buy it now price is on there, $52,500. I'm still a bit puzzled by the low price...

ViperJohn: "It's a scam."

Maybe. Probably. But how can you be sure? The last two items this guy sold were a subwoofer and an exhaust manifold. You be the judge.
Asp Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 09:20 AM   #11
roofum

Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: west burbs of chicago
Posts: 224



Default Re: Could this be real?

took a ride to see it .the car is real (STEEL).he says because of all the wonderful people in the eastern region (you know who you are).is why the price is so low .he said bring him 10 k $$$$cash only. he will bring the car right to your front door .he also has a bridges for sale in a number of city's told me you pick the bridge he would give me a sale price under retail.. what a guy. THIS IS A CASH ONLY Sale also has group buys only for the east coast dudes
roofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 09:47 AM   #12
Cop Magnet

IL VCA Member

 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kenilworth, IL
Posts: 1,487



Default Re: Could this be real?

Quote:
For one thing, the seller "camaroman97" lists his location as St Charles, IL in other auctions and no location is listed for this auction. The photos look "deserty" leading me to believe the car was photographed in Arizona or Nevada. The whole thing seems a little fishy to me, especially considering the incredibly low Buy It Now price for the car.
I agree, that looks like Phoenix to me!
Cop Magnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 10:00 AM   #13
jdoc7

VCA Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 561



Default Re: Could this be real?

Here's another one. 97' B/W GTS for $15K...yeah right!
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Dodge-Vip...1QQcmdZViewItem
jdoc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 10:15 AM   #14
CANTDRIVE55

VCA Member
 
CANTDRIVE55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 260



Default Re: Could this be real?

Hi,

I called the security dept of eBay and reported both to be investigated.
CANTDRIVE55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 10:32 AM   #15
big-n-italian

IL VCA Member & Avatar Expert

 
big-n-italian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bartonville, IL (Near Peoria)
Posts: 6,813



Default Re: Could this be real?

i asked the owner where the car was located and whether or not i could see it.

anxious to see what he says.
big-n-italian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody ever see this done for real? ..........(pic) Toby RT/10 and GTS Discussions 10 09-21-2002 11:20 PM
Why don't you use your real name? Jerry Dobson Sneaky Pete's Place 24 07-09-2002 11:06 PM
Why don't you use your real name? Jerry Dobson RT/10 and GTS Discussions 3 07-08-2002 07:37 PM
Is this for real?!!! 99 R/T 10 RT/10 and GTS Discussions 9 01-27-2002 11:45 PM
What was your first real job ? Chuck 98 RT/10 Sneaky Pete's Place 15 11-05-2001 08:26 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0