97-98 (I live in the east and need real
    windows).

A 99 viper with a rebuilt title is on the
    radar screen. The owner bought the
    car from an insurance salvage auction.

The story goes like this; the original owner
    lost control of the car and ran it off the road
    creating some damage. The insurance company paid
    off the owner and subsequently sold the car at auction.

The current owner describes the damage as
    somewhat minor. All damages have been repaired
    (i.e., cracked windsheild, repaint front bumper and
    hood, and replaced rear view mirror).

I had the local dodge dealer check
    out the car for piece of mind. Results
    indicated the car is clean.

The warranty has been voided and the title
    is now labeled as "rebuilt".

I have no experience with a buying car
    that has a rebuilt title.

What am I getting myself in for? Any surprises!
    Can I purchase a warranty on a car that
    has a rebuilt title?
    What about re-sale in the future?

Any and all advise would be appreciated!

<FONT COLOR="#ff0000" SIZE="1" FACE="Verdana, Arial">This message has been edited by viperwannabe on 03-17-2002 at 07:32 PM</font>

Viper Owner

Default Re: Looking for some gudiance regarding a viper with a rebuilt title

This car is a 99 or 00 Silver RT/10 isnt it? I talked to the guy with that car. From my experience, you should not have any problems titling the car since it is ALREADY deemed rebuilt. if it was salvage titled, rebuilt, but NOT deemed rebuilt yet, you could run into problems because the states require an "inspection" to look for stolen parts, and those are a pain and can take some time to do. In NY state, I have heard these inspections are backed up for 4 months. As far as titling, you should be OK with this car if you do buy it.