GM High Tech Performance Magazine LOVES Vipers!

Joseph Houss

Former VCA National President
VCA Officer
Reaction score
OK, I've been holding my breath for two months as this story couldn't be "broken" until the January 2002 issue of the GM publication was circulated, but now.... IT'S TIME!

Page 24-27
SUPERCAR SHOOTOUT

Here's some excerpts:

"Here's the part where you groan. The Viper GTS is not only a Mopar, it's faster than a Z06. A lot faster."

"First up was the Z06. With the traction control switched off, Smitty did a brief dry burnout to clean the tires..... The smooth as silk run was anti-climactic and the timers froze at 12.42/112.7"

"Celebration was muted, for there was a menacing black Viper GTS sitting silently in the corner. ...... Time was wasting, and while the Z06 shifter was being ornery, the Viper clicked off two more great ETs, an 11.98/117.7 and 12.11/116.3. Hot weather or no, the Viper was making hay out of Chevy's best without breaking a sweat"

Absolutely great story, in a GM PUBLICATION!!!! ..plenty of pictures (even on the cover). Available on larger newstands now, and, I've ordered bulk copies so if you can't find one, just e-mail me.

You must be registered for see images

Paul Fischer

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Great to hear the "creampuff" cars doing 11's. And to think I heard it from GM first. Printing that story took balls. Now I can admire GM's editorial management as much as I admire their cars.

Performin Norman

Enthusiast
Reaction score
What an awesome article. I sure wish they would have tested the 02. I would have lent them mine. Should be good for another .2 and a couple of MPH. I love it when they do unbiased tests.

You have got to pick up this issue.

Thanks for telling me Joe. I picked up a couple of copies.

SapphireGTS

Enthusiast
Reaction score
"Oh yeah. My buddy has a 1,200 horse power TT 427 C5 that will smoke a viper anyday . . . "

Thats what Im waiting for. That seems to be the common response for the vette guys.