How much would the dealership charge to change head gasket in a 1994 rt/10?

Qualitywires.com

Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
Any estimates? What headgasket should I go with? Is this something I should try to do myself? I'm not an expert mechanic, but know my way around pretty good.
thanks!

FRANK

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Put it this way, you are looking at about a $1,000 job. Considering shop labor is at least $70.00 per hour, and it is an all day job (8 hour job), you are looking at say $600.00. Many mechanics haven't worked on a Viper before, so they won't be able to beat the time too badly. Figure on coolant flush and fill at over $100.00 since the Viper uses more antifreeze than the normal car. Figure $100.00 for gaskets. Figure another $75 for a recommended oil change too. You are somewhere in the neighborhood. I'd just figure a grand to be on the safe side. I hear that Mopar head gaskets are on backorder too...that ***** big time, especially if you need them!!

Sean Roe

Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by FRANK:
Figure $100.00 for gaskets.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hey ab,
If you can get a Viper V10 top end gasket kit for a $100, order a set for me too! I'm right behind you with my '94.
(Frank, don't take that too seriously. I "wish" the price was that low)

Ab,try to get an engine oil anaysis done before you pull the heads. We did one yesterday on mine and fortunately the report came back with only trace elements of water and antifreeze. If it had shown more, the bearings might need to be replaced also as anifreeze scores babbit in bearings. The oil analysis will show the condition of the bearings, rings etc.

Good luck,

FRANK

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Sean,