Take the bolts for the jack and spare tire away?

Tomas

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Åland Islands (Baltic Sea Hawaii), FINLAND
Hello everyone

I like to take the bolts for the jack and the spare tire away. Can I take the bolts away? How do I do that? or do I have to cut them.

You must be registered for see images

I dont need to have the jack and the tire with me and I like to have the cargo compartment clean.

regards

Tomas

Clifton Viper

Viper Owner
Reaction score
You might want to do a search on "spare tire safety" on this forum.

The spare tire is suppose to help reduce occupant injuries in rear end collisions. I'm no expert but you might want to read those threads before you cut that bolt off.

Regards.

SylvanSRT

Enthusiast
Reaction score
the spare is a structual part of the crash worthiness of the car. you cannot run in Viperdays without a spare in place. i would not drive without it

V10 MOJO

Enthusiast
Reaction score
its a tire not a safety device. its an attorneys wetdream to consider it as anything other than what it is; a spare tire.

S

Stang7900

Sounds like to me if someone rearends you that fast, that spare will hit you in the lower back...snappage!! I would think you would be seriously hurt either way.

BTW- Who stops long enough for someone to do that?

SylvanSRT

Enthusiast
Reaction score
the spare IS part of the crash protection of the car, this also leads me to believe that all crash worthiness tests were done w/ the spare in place. this would also lead me to believe that the bolted in tire becomes part of the frame and crumple zone in the car. if i am wrong i am sure someone will chime in and tell me.

GTSnake

Enthusiast
Reaction score