Anyone write off their Viper for business?

Brian 95 RT

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Just curious if anyone writes off their Viper as a business vehicle (one heck of a business vehicle!). Makes entertaining clients much more enjoyable, and after all, image is everything!!!

Photo pro

Enthusiast
Reaction score
High school senior portrait photo prop?

Just kidding, I haven't quite figured out how to write it off yet.

By the way, I charge $100 for the use of it as a prop.

AG98RT10

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I'm not a tax lawyer or anything, but it sure seems that someone who owns a business, say, like a speed shop and races a comp coupe with their logo would qualify for some major deductions.

CHAD

Enthusiast
Reaction score
You can write off any vehicle as a company car, regardless of the amount. It gets much more difficult if you want to write off more than one for yourself though.

If you want to write off just the Viper, you may want to lease it so that you can write off the entire payment every month. If you want to buy, I think this year you can write off 50% the first year on a purchase and then amortize the remainder over 3 or 4 years.

This is my understanding only. Hopefully an accountant will chime in.

HARDVIPER

Enthusiast
Reaction score
My CPA says we should only right of the mileage, I didn't want to raise any Red flags.. But what good is that? So I get to write off 700 miles for the year...............

Ratech

Enthusiast
Reaction score
My company manufacture's performance parts. I write it off as a advertising expense. It has a depreciating schedule like the other capital equipment in my business. Most CPA's do not understand the hobby business.

FE 065

Enthusiast
Reaction score