First time owner checking in

egokilr

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Whats up,

Just purchased my first Viper so I am very new to the cars still athough I have liked them for some time. 98 GTS Silver 32,000 miles. Looking foward to doing some simple mods to start. Just wondering as far as the best route to take for exhausts. And any other new owner maintnence tips or what to look out for.
Thanks,

Andrew

PaViper

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Andy, welcome to the Forum. You will probably get more traffic on your questions if you post in the RT / GTS forum, and if you do a search for posts about exhausts, you will find that everybody on here has an opinion and probably a picture of most every combination out there. I had the B&B catback on my 02 GTS and it wasn't quite as agressive sounding as I would have liked, although if I would have put the high flow cats on, it probably would have made the difference I was looking for. It also had slightly eliptical tips. I like the looks of the Corsa, but it has a higher pitched sound than I liked. Anyway, I am sure you will get lots of advice and once again welcome.

Reaction score
Congratulations and Welcome to the Viperholics of America!

Modifications? What do you want to the mods to do? Drag racing? Road Racing?

The first an best modification is to the Pilot's Computer Software. This up grade is available from Skip Barber with special discounts for VCA members. 1 800-221-1131 Next, Safety items, roll bar as a minimum and fire suppression suggested.

After these upgrades road course activity will benefit most from higher temp. brake fluid (Motul), high brake pads and better track tires. Once the Pilot's Computer Software upgrades have been mastered then the differential and engine are candidates. Bolt-on are pretty straight forward with K&N filter system, Headers, high flow cats, Cat Back, heads ported and polished with larger valves. Want more get a stroker motor built.