Thread: How does one reset the PCM?

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chesapeake, Virginia
    Posts
    712

    Default How does one reset the PCM?

    I finally broke down and bought a pack of resistors for $1 from RadioShack so that I could put one into the skip shift plug. How do I now reset the PCM to get rid of the check engine light? I tried just disconnecting the battery and that wasn't enough.

  2. #2
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,006

    Default Re: How does one reset the PCM?

    Did you install the right resistor? I didn't have to reset my PCM. I just turned the car on, and the light was off.

  3. #3
    VCA Member
    Northeast
    NE Director at Large
    ViperJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    3,603

    Default Re: How does one reset the PCM?

    To reset the PCM, simply remove the protective cover and unplug all three connectors to it. Wait a minute, plug them back in.

  4. #4
    Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Bluemont VA USA
    Posts
    540

    Default *DELETED*


  5. #5
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,006

    Default Re: How does one reset the PCM?

    The resistor will eliminate the skip shift light.
    The resistor turns off just the constant check engine light caused by unplugging the wiring harness connected to the tranny. The skip shift light still illuminates after unplugging the harness and putting in the resistor, assuming the conditions are met for causing the skip shift light to be triggered.

  6. #6
    Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Bluemont VA USA
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: How does one reset the PCM?

    The resistor will eliminate the skip shift light.
    The resistor turns off just the constant check engine light caused by unplugging the wiring harness connected to the tranny. The skip shift light still illuminates after unplugging the harness and putting in the resistor, assuming the conditions are met for causing the skip shift light to be triggered.
    Anaconda thanks for clearing that up. I have done a fair number of mods to the Viper but that is not one of them. Skip shift seldom kicks in for me.

  7. #7
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,006

    Default Re: How does one reset the PCM?

    Spend a buck and get rid of it forever. Do it during your next oil change, when you are down there anyway. It's a piece of cake. I can't think of a better thing to spend a dollar on (okay okay, tipping a stripper is better....)

  8. #8
    Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Roy, WA
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: How does one reset the PCM?

    Anyone know what plug size will fill the void if I just want to pull the whole solenoid rather than just unplugging it?

  9. #9
    VCA Member
    Northeast
    NE Director at Large
    ViperJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    3,603

    Default Re: How does one reset the PCM?

    You can buy a skip shift eliminator for $17.95 from Mid-America. It is the same one the Corvette, Camaro and Firebird use.

    The one they offer has OEM style connectors. The one connector is just a plug for the solenoid connector on the tranny. The other one goes on the power supply line and has the resistor built in.

    2 minute install, no check engine light.

  10. #10
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB
    Posts
    1,374

    Default Re: How does one reset the PCM?

    John,
    Do you have a link or a part #?
    Thanks

  11. #11
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,006

    Default Re: How does one reset the PCM?

    Just cover the hole with electrical tape. The "hole" faces up toward the cabin, so it will be fine.

    Spending $17.95 is just a waste of money.

  12. #12
    VCA Member
    Northeast
    NE Director at Large
    ViperJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    3,603

    Default Re: How does one reset the PCM?

    Here is the link to the part. I bought mine two years ago, they have raised the price to $19.99.

    http://www.madvet.com/shop?frame=1.304.101

    Anaconda, while the ghetto method works (it's a 0.5 ohm resistor). I have found that after a while, especially when driving in wet conditions, most tape tends to work its way loose. So for me, spending 20 bucks to only have to do the job once, using OEM connectors is worth it.

    Another tip for the do-it-yourself bunch, make sure to disconnect the CAGS solenoid and not the reverse lock-out solenoid. If memory serves me, the CAGS solenoid is further back.

  13. #13
    VCA Member
    Northeast
    NE Director at Large
    ViperJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    3,603

    Default Re: How does one reset the PCM?

    Also if you buy one from them, be preparred to get a thick catalog about every month with all the latest Corvette poser gear.

  14. #14
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,006

    Default Re: How does one reset the PCM?

    Well, I dunno, I removed mine right after I got my car, and have put 19,000 miles on it so far, in wet and dry conditions, on the track and on the street. It works fine. I just used a lot of tape.

Similar Threads

  1. How do i reset my PCM?
    By Greg B in forum RT/10 and GTS Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-21-2007, 11:11 AM
  2. Need to reset pcm every 6months or so
    By Warfang in forum RT/10 and GTS Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-27-2005, 01:32 AM
  3. Alarm reset on a 96
    By Gerald Levin in forum RT/10 and GTS Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-17-2004, 04:32 PM
  4. Alarm reset??
    By MES in forum RT/10 and GTS Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-07-2001, 08:04 PM
  5. Many (all) of you will need to reset your "Cookies"
    By Jay Herbert in forum Archive Management
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-19-2001, 03:31 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts