Need advice on Woodward Dream Cruise

onerareviper

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Here's the deal-

This is my first time going to the Woodward Dream Cruise. Saturday is the day I will be there (plan to stay the entire day). Mainly going as a spectator, as I will not be bringing the Viper. My goal is to see/hear as many cool cars as possible.

1.) How bad is traffic coming into Detroit - From East (say mid-day)?

2.) What is a good time to arrive?

3.) Where the heck should I go? Is there a good lot to park at and spectate?

4.) Is there a parade at any point in the day? What should I expect at this event?

5.) Smart items to bring - flolding chair, cooler, etc... ?

6.) Any must see's.

7.) Any lots where Viper or other exotics meet up?

8.) Any schedule of events?

9.) What should I expect?

As you can see, I am clueless. Any insight will be appreciated.

GTSnake

Enthusiast
Reaction score
1.) How bad is traffic coming into Detroit - From East (say mid-day)? Not sure it shouldn't be too bad until you get close to Woodward.

2.) What is a good time to arrive? Anytime before 11am it should still be fairly sane. After noon it is crazy crowded. I suggest getting there before 10 am to get a prime spot.

3.) Where the heck should I go? Is there a good lot to park at and spectate? A good spot is somewhere around Maple (15 mile rd). It's close to the action and there's a lot of places to eat within walking distance.

4.) Is there a parade at any point in the day? What should I expect at this event? The cruise IS the parade. Expect overheated cars, cops, crowds, cops, crowds and cars... Since Detroit doesn't have the Gran Prix anymore most of the corporate budgets have been redirected to the Dream Cruise. Each year the corporations are sponsoring more and more stuff.