Why not have control

Reaction score
I have owned my viper now 8 months and have put maybe 3500 very exciting miles on it. Last sunday on Rte 287 in north Jersey I got into a thing with a young kid in a seriously modded mustang. I am 65 and he is maybe 25. Wife was asleep in the pass seat. We leveled off at 110 he thought he had conquered the Bronx, I downshifted several gears and left him like he was going backwards. Several miles ahead i backed off to 110 and let him pull next to me his girl friend was disgusted and waved me to back off. Just then my wife woke and said are you doing over 100 again I said close go back to sleep. I am a crummy driver but the viper gives me false courage. About every 2 weeks we read of another viper single car fatality. Why are all of you it seems against stability control. The new 600 HP viper will still be without it. How long does Dodge think they can get away without it. There are 35000 vettes made every year and there are only 19000 vipers made in 16 years yet it appears that more people die in Viper single car crashes than vettes. The problem is the viper sticks better than the flimsy vette but when it lets go your screwed. If we add all the viper fatalities in the last 16 years of viper production it would be a serious percentage. How many vipers have died since initial production began. I am thinking seriously of keeping my viper for garage furniture and going back to a vette forspirited driving. I know most of you will not be happy with this post but my wife reads the forum and is becoming more nervous about our time in the viper, which we cherish. Thanks for listening Rich here in NJ

Hirohawa

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I think the Viper should have a defeatable traction control system. All the new Ferarris have it (599 GTB, F430) so I don't buy that it is not in keeping with a real sports car.

Also Traction control is great if you ever want to attend a HPDE and don't want to total your car if you are a beginner.