Thread: How do you reset the key fob on an 02.

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Phila Suburbs
    Age
    58
    Posts
    2,605

    Default How do you reset the key fob on an Gen II

    I had to do it when I first bought the car and all I did was hold both buttons down and the horn sounded 3 times. I could not get the second fob to reset so I changed the battery, still no go so I ordered a new fob from Chuck "The Wizard" (by the way, outstanding customer service ) and I am still not able to get the second fob to work. I asked Chuck about grounding the gree wire first and he said that Gen II's do not have a green wire and that it was just a Gen I thing.

    Has anybody done this on a Gen II? How did you do it?

    Any guidance at all would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by agentf1; 08-13-2007 at 08:26 PM.

  2. #2
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Phila Suburbs
    Age
    58
    Posts
    2,605

    Default Re: How do you reset the key fob on an 02.

    TTT Ooops, the title was actually supposed to read on a Gen II not on an 02. Not that it makes any difference but it is actually an 01. Anybody? Nobodies had to reset their fob's?

    I know, I need to break down and get some service manuals next.

  3. #3
    Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Explaining Viper things to you
    Posts
    14,975

    Default Re: How do you reset the key fob on an 02.

    The both button three honk thing did my '01 GTS. Since you bought the thing from Chuck, have you called him about this?

  4. #4
    VCA Member
    Midsouth
    Gus Strakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Monkton, MD, USA
    Posts
    517

    Default Re: How do you reset the key fob on an 02.

    Re-programming a key fob can be done by a Viper Tech with a DRB for about $75.00. If you take it to the dealer, make sure you take both/all fobs, as they will all need to be reprogrammed, even the one(s) that already work. You can also do it yourself, and there used to be directions in the "How To" section off of the home page, but it's been pulled. If you choose to do it yourself, here are instructions that I clipped from an old post. You can find the post by doing a search on "remote re-programming".

    Originally posted in 2005 :
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1. Ensure the alarm system is not armed.
    2. (1996 ~ 1998 GEN II) Ground pin C13 loose green wire taped to harness of EEM connector, which is under dash mounted on the left side of trans tunnel, directly above accelerator. Easy access if you remove knee bolster and rubber bungee cord that holds EEM to tunnel.
    2A. (1999 ~ 2000) As #2, but instead of C13 you're grounding Terminal 1 of the DLC. (9/30 update...Ron found out that DLC is the Data Link Connector, i.e. the under dash OBD2 connector which is above your left knee)
    2B. (ALL GEN I) Ground green "Program" Wire located next to SAM and RKE modules. Is a green wire with a bullet connector on end. Is located under driver's side instrument panel.
    Hint, Make sure you're connecting to a solid body ground by testing it with an ohm meter.
    3. Turn ignition to run position while green wire is still grounded!
    4. EEM acknowledges entry into programming mode by flashing the dash LED. If it doesn't flash, you either:
    - Have the wrong wire
    - Aren't solidly grounded
    - You came off ground after the ignition switch was placed in the run position. Start over.
    5. (All GEN II) Press BOTH buttons on the transmitter simultaneously and continuously for 10 seconds. You will hear a triple horn chirp when FOB is accepted by the EEM.
    5B. (All GEN I) Press and release the arm or disarm button on either FOB, then same for the next.
    Hint: Make sure your transmitter is working, i.e fresh CR2032 battery $1.19 @ Zbattery.com and good clean battery contacts. Many times your problem is an electrically weak connection within the FOB itself.
    6. You MUST program all FOBS during the same programming process. You can program up to 4 on a GEN II and I think only 2 on a GEN I.
    That's it. Turn the ignition off and remove green wire from ground, then test the arm and disarm functions.
    I've done 4 FOBS myself and found it quite easy once you find the green wire.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The 4 FOBS were done by the original poster, not by me.
    Hope this helps.
    Regards,
    Gus (in Maryland)
    06 SRT-10 VOI9 #75
    02 GTS FE #022

Similar Threads

  1. How do i reset my PCM?
    By Greg B in forum RT/10 and GTS Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-21-2007, 11:11 AM
  2. How does one reset the PCM?
    By DrDJ in forum RT/10 and GTS Discussions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-03-2005, 03:39 PM
  3. Need to reset pcm every 6months or so
    By Warfang in forum RT/10 and GTS Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-27-2005, 01:32 AM
  4. Alarm reset on a 96
    By Gerald Levin in forum RT/10 and GTS Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-17-2004, 04:32 PM
  5. Many (all) of you will need to reset your "Cookies"
    By Jay Herbert in forum Archive Management
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-19-2001, 03:31 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts