Buying 97 GTS B/W...What to check for?

redsrt10

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hello All!!!! This is my First post on the site. Acquiring a 97Viper GTS B/W with 8K. Haven't seen the car in person yet, but will this weekend. Acquired alot of pics, run AutoCheck, CarFax, called the dealerships etc researching the car. Checked this website and also read some of the posts related to the 97 GTS. Car appears to be clean except for a duplicate title issue which I understand can be common. The only warranty work performed has been the Frame Recall at 3K. I'm not a novice to cars especially Mopar muscle cars but would greatly appreciate any advice on things and areas to check on a 97 Viper GTS. The car is long distance and I will be seeing the car tomorrow. THANKS in advance for any and all responses!!!!
I do own an 04 Ram SRT10 and can't wait to get the Viper.

Kmrumedy

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I bought the same car as you last year from a buyer 3000 miles away. I also had a local member check out the car.

Here is a list of general viper questions I used. Congratulations on choosing not only only a great car.....but the best color!! :)

Used Viper Questions:

General:
1.Year?
2. Price?
3. Mileage?
4. Clean title?
5. VIN #?
6. Existing lien?
7. In service date?

Equipment:
1. Stock / original, or minor / moderate modifications (K&N filters, smooth tubes)
(headers, hi-flow cats, cat-back system, or more?) Rear wing?
2. Exterior and Interior Color? (Body stripes - painted or vinyl) Interior mods?
3. Nature of radio / CD player (stock, single in-dash, trunk player, etc.)?
4. Soft-top, hardtop, or both? Condition of each
5. Bag for soft-top?
Bikini top and bag
7. Tonneau cover? Side windows? (Gen1)
8. Car cover?
9. Existing Factory warranty / extended warranty (or provide after-market warranty)?

Condition:
1. General overall condition (any nicks, chips, scratches, window cracks, etc.)?
2. Involved in an accident(s), damaged, repainted, (telltale signs) etc.?