New Viper Gen5 Concept Art

Ratrod

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Hello all,

I decided to put pen to paper and come up with some ideas for Gen5. I'm a design engineer in Detroit working for one of the 'new domestic' auto makers. I spend most of my time designing parts for minivans and cross-overs. But of course day dreaming about the next Viper is much more fun! Ralph Gilles, if you're reading this and you need a consultant, I'm not far from Auburn Hills! ha ha!

I have a 97 GTS (65K miles and counting), which was always my favorite Viper, until the SRT ACRs showed up! Now i have to start saving my pennies again! So in designing the new Viper i tried to pull a little from the GTS and the SRT. I wanted to get a little more 'hotrod' back into the car.

The front of course has the Dodge 'cross-hair' grille. But i centered it between a pair of large brake ducts. (i think they look cool, but also, I'm probably compensating for my 'weak' GTS brakes on the track) I kept the same basic headlamp shape, but turned them up to look a little more mean.

The side view keeps with classic side cove scoop, i just pushed it forward and made it more 'swoopy' than the SRT. The roofline is probably the biggest change i wanted to add. Instead of having the tight 'C' pillar roof; with the pillar right behind the door, i added a rear quarter window. This allows the 'C' pillar to sweep back in a more fastback style (which i love). This will also provide us Viper pilots with better visibility.

The rear of the car is changed very little. Just like there is little difference between the back of the GTS and the SRT, i found little room for improvement. So i didn't change anything here.

I have attached my pencil sketches, please enjoy. I can take your critisms, art is subjective. Hopefully this will help drum up enough interest in Gen5 to get momentum rolling on the 'real' developement!

You must be registered for see images attach

v10enomous

Enthusiast
Reaction score