what should it cost?

Danino

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I just got off the phone with Doug Levin Motorsports in Broward county (south florida), asking what it should cost to throw in 3.55 gears out back and have it calibrated. Since I'm a pre-med student I don't have the time to do it myself, nor the know how to be honest. To get to the point, they told me it would cost about $1600 to do the work. I have no prior knowledge since I never managed to install gear in my mustang (not to compare the stang to the viper) of what it should cost. they also mentioned something about removing the exhaust in order to do the work. anyone know if that sounds right or are they trying hustle me? I hear they do good work but still does'nt hurt to consult the forum.

plumcrazy

Enthusiast
Reaction score
not sure as i never had that done, but id trust anything doug told me and i have....

i dropped off a car with a busted engine, no quote for work and I told him not to kill me and he sure didnt. his bill actually was less than i expected. doug is da man

OP
OP
D

Danino

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Yea I have heard on a number of occasions that they are a good shop. I also heard they are on the expensive end. But that is what happens when you're shop is the best. It just sounds a little much for gears, but then again, I don't know as much as I would like about the viper mechanically.

plumcrazy

Enthusiast
Reaction score
i cant speak for his pricing other than what he has charged me personally. his work is top notch and prices were more than fair for me.

Bill Pemberton Woodhouse

VCA Member
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
Not anymore expensive than anyone in your area, but it will be done right. That is worth price alone, and Doug will do it correctly.

The option of saving a few bucks ( and the price is pretty much right in line ) is you will likely have someone using you as a guinea pig to do the job.