Dyno tuned my 06 Coupe

Big Turkey

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I decided to put my car on the dyno to eliminate to see what I could get out of a pretty much stock 06 Coupe. I was very curious to see the difference a custom tune would make on the car. Now, I must say I am new to the Vipers but not new to tuning. I do tune Ford and GM cars with SCT software, and that is what I used to tune my Viper.

The car is equipped with K&N Filters and a Magnaflow catback. Here is the dyno sheet comparing the stock tune to a custom dyno tune. I spent hours going through the factory ECU and setting up base parameters, as well as cleaning up the timing map in the midrange, and I still gained a good amount of power and torque from a dyno tune.

Here is an interesting tidbit. I hooked up 2 wideband 02 sensors on the car, the dyno's wideband sensor on the passenger side and my NGK AFX with a brand new sensor on the driver side. I datalogged and recorded all the dyno runs on the car. The Dynojet's wideband read .7-.8 points LEANER than my NGK AFX. Now I do have both factory cats in place and removed the rear 02's to put in the widebands, so they are reading passed 2 cats, which will show leaner regardless. I figured one of the cats is more clogged than the other, but I tuned to the leaner of the two.

Red Graph - SCT Tuned
Blue Graph - Stock Run

Peak gains were 27.3HP and 52ft/lbs of torque!

Midrange was even more of a gain. At 3800RPM, the car picked up 45HP and 75ft/lbs and entirely smoothed out both power and torque curves tremendously.

Air/fuel was showing 12.2-12.5:1 on the dyno, and 11.5-11.7:1 on my datalogs. Either way that is after both cats so the motor itself is still rich. I believe if I leaned it out more I could have picked up another 10-12RWHP. I have long tubes with no cats sitting in my garage that will go on next week so I went ahead and stopped tuning after I figured out the timing curve of the car.

So is a tune worth it on a stock vehicle? Hell yeah!!