Thread: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    278

    Default IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    So I've had the GTS for about 8 or 9 months now. I've loved every minute. I've even put up with only having a CD player in there. I even burned a few CD's and deal with swapping them for drives... However...let's face it, it's 2013... I need an iPod connection!

    I've done some searches here but for some reason most say that it could not be done. There is no aux input and no way to wire one in. FM modulators/transmitters are no good. It seemed like thionyl choice was a new head unit. I was not satisfied with that.

    Did a bit of digging again and found a post about a hard wired FM Modulator for iPods. I figured I would try it.

    What I got was a solution from iSimple. It is the IS77 which is a wired FM Modulator with an IPod connector and charging capability. By a "wired" FM Modulator it means that the device is hard wired into the antenna input of the radio. It basically gives you the best signal you can get. No need for an AUX port. Since the Alpine head unit uses a "standard" banana plug antenna, it is an easy install.

    Here is what I did.

    You have to get to the radio so the center bezel comes out. It snaps out (a number of write ups on this all over the place) easily. Then once you have that out, two screws get the radio out.







    Once it is out three connectors come out. One is the antenna, one is the output and one is power cables. The main one you will need is the Antenna.



    The device connects easily. Basically you need power to the unit and you connect the antenna through the device. In the case of the IS77 you have a couple of other connections to make but they are all setup for plug in connections. You have a power switch, the power connector to supply power to charge the iPod. Of course you also have the iPod connector itself.

    The power is easy, if you want that. You can simply pull power for the cigarette lighter plug. However, I used accessory power or switched power. This way I never have a concern with the iPod draining the power if the cars remains undriven for a week or more. The power came from an "add-a-circuit" that is in fuse spot 6. I used it for the radar detector install I did. All my connections are always soldered and covered in heat shrink.





    The wire was run from behind the drivers knee pad and up into the radio area. Very simple. Ground was form the cigarette lighter connector. Easiest location.





  2. #2
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    278

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Once the power is wired the rest is academic. You simply tidy up the wires and drop the unit in under the radio.

    This is the unit used.



    The unit tucked in under the radio bracket. If I had designed it, I would not have gotten a better fit! I place some high adhesion doubled faced tape on the device and tucked it in there. No rattles will ever be heard.



    I then ran the wire back under the center console and out. When not used I just drop in behind the passenger seat.



    The radio back in and tuned to 87.9 FM playing Steppenwolf's remixed "Magic Carpet Ride"!



    Sound is excellent. The device works by cutting out the incoming FM signal and replacing it with the signal coming from the device. Essentially eliminating any kind of interference. The output is clean and crisp, no signal noise at all. Frankly, sounds as good as my 2010 Charger with the integrated iPod factory radio. The only catch is that you must use the iPod to control the playing music. However, it is a small price to pay for never having to swap CD's and looking for songs. The other benefit is that it charges the device as well so no need to have a second charger. It will charge all iPod/iPhone devices except the iPod Shuffle version.

    In the end I kept the stock head unit, did not mar the interior and got tunes in the process! All requirements I had!
    Last edited by Luisv; 03-27-2013 at 08:09 AM.

  3. #3
    Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Mass...
    Posts
    264

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    I like it, thanks for posting!!!

  4. #4
    Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    639

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Definitely an option. I've been looking for a way to hook up an mp3 player. It's a bit pricey though , since aftermarket cd decks are about the same cost...

  5. #5
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    278

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Quote Originally Posted by Indy View Post
    Definitely an option. I've been looking for a way to hook up an mp3 player. It's a bit pricey though , since aftermarket cd decks are about the same cost...
    Huh?!

    It was $50 on eBay. shipped!

  6. #6
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    McMurray, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Nice write up. I ordered an IS77 tonight!

  7. #7
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Indy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    255

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Thanks, I just ordered one from Amazon. $45.26

  8. #8
    Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    639

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Huh?!

    It was $50 on eBay. shipped!
    oh, ok. I googled it, and on the official site it was close to $100. Half of that makes it a really good option

  9. #9
    Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    "OIHO"
    Posts
    4,962

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Great writeup! I sometimes think about doing this to my GEN II but I just can't bring myself to do anything to my GEN II.

  10. #10
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bettendorf, IA
    Posts
    509

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Here's a direct link for those of you who don't want to search: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...wheecomusedveh

  11. #11
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    85

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Nice write up!

  12. #12
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    278

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Thanks. Glad to share.

    I see there was definitely interest!

  13. #13
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Indy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    255

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    What about the on off power switch? What did you do with it?

  14. #14
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    278

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    I placed it under the dash. For now, it's floating. I reach under and turn it on.

    What I did today was make a fiberglass plate that I will place at the bottom of the dash knee pad. I am in the middle of resto-modding a 1977 Corvette and am doing the glass work now... So I had the materials... I'll drill one end for the switch and the other can be simply two face taped. Should be plenty. Perhaps I will use one of the knee pad screws. We'll see. It is a bit of a pain, but I rather this than to drill the dash or console.

    I may do it tomorrow so I'll take photos and post it.

  15. #15
    Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    347

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Bringing this back from the dead to not only confirm that this unit does what its advertised to do, but also thank Luisv on the recommendation and install process.

    I did everything the same and the sound quality it perfect. Anyone who is looking for MP3 connectivity while maintaining factory headunit, this is it.

    Thanks Luisv!

  16. #16
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    278

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Not a problem... Glad it helped.

    As FYI... the unit has been in for about a year and I've had no problems at all...

  17. #17

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Quote Originally Posted by Luisv View Post
    Not a problem... Glad it helped.

    As FYI... the unit has been in for about a year and I've had no problems at all...
    Do you happen to have model # for that deck?

  18. #18
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    278

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Quote Originally Posted by phatkiddx2 View Post
    Do you happen to have model # for that deck?

    Sorry... I may have missed something... what model # do you need? Deck?

  19. #19
    VCA Member
    Northeast
    NE Director at Large
    ViperJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    3,603

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    I missed this write up last year. Nice post. I switched my Alpine unit out for another a few years ago, but this would have been a nice option.

  20. #20
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Metro Detroit
    Posts
    162

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    Price is right and it'a a lot less work.

    http://www.amazon.com/GSI-Transmitte.../dp/B003U4SU7I


    I bought this one and it works great and again, a lot less work.


  21. #21
    Viper Owner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    278

    Default Re: IPod with the Stock Alpine head unit on GTS

    I've always had crappy luck with those FM units. The reception, for me, is always hit or miss. Also, this does not charge the iPod or iPad. However, definitely ,much, much easier.

Similar Threads

  1. Looking for Gen 4 Stock-Fit Ipod-Compatible Stereo Head Unit Upgrade
    By jaragon in forum SRT10 and SRT10 Coupe Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-29-2012, 10:31 AM
  2. similar Alpine head unit with auxilliary input
    By gtex in forum RT/10 and GTS Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-27-2011, 07:45 PM
  3. Looking to Buy RB1 Head Unit and iPod Adapter for '08
    By Stealth in forum SRT10 and SRT10 Coupe Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-15-2008, 02:15 PM
  4. What is the best all in one Alpine head unit with display out there?
    By Qualitywires.com in forum Sneaky Pete's Place
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-2007, 10:25 PM
  5. anyone have a stock gen 2 alpine head unit
    By SuperSaiks in forum RT/10 and GTS Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-18-2006, 12:07 PM
Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts